You are here

Westfield Foundation Holds Annual End of Year Meeting

Westfield Foundation Holds Annual End of Year Meeting

Monday, August 20, 2018

This past May, the Westfield Foundation trustees hosted their public annual end of year meeting at the Westfield Memorial Library.  President Janet Sarkos reflected on her tenure at the Westfield Foundation.  Since she joined the board in 2013, the Foundation has added 14 new funds, bringing the total of funds to 122.  Assets under management in those five years have more than doubled from $11.9 million to $24.4 million.  The board awarded over $1.5 million in grants to community organizations and awarded over $750,000 in scholarships to promising young students.

This past year, the Foundation awarded their first grant from the Betty Bogaert fund.  Bogaert was a longtime Westfield resident who died in 2016 and left a bequest to the Foundation.  The grant will be used by the town of Westfield for the Mindowaskin Park playground, which is currently being renovated.

The Foundation recognized three trustees who have completed their six-year term on the board: Darielle Walsh, Ray Kostyak and Jay Boyle.  They also welcomed four new trustees for 2018-19: Corey Wu-Jung, John Schmidt, Lawrence Darrow and Tim Boyle.