You are here

Westfield Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients for 2020

Westfield Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients for 2020

Wednesday, August 5, 2020

The Westfield Foundation announced Emily Ensslin and Ian Gurland as the Clarence H. and Florence Horn Van Dellen Scholarship recipients for 2020. The Van Dellen Scholarship is $5,000 a year for four years totaling $20,000. The selection criteria for the scholarship are: Community Service, Academic Achievement (top 25% of class), Character, Financial Need and Leadership.

The Westfield Rotary’s Scholarship Committee also selects several scholarship winners on behalf of funds administered by The Westfield Foundation. Two top scholarships were awarded in memory of Charles and Florence Wallace totaling $15,000 each to be paid over the course of four years. The recipients are Jeremy Kronheimer (Carnegie Mellon University) and Deborah Obiajulu (Harvard University).

The recipient of the $5,000 Scholarship in Memory of Chester A. Gerdes, is William Litchholt (University of Pittsburgh). The Wallace $5,000 scholarship was awarded to Casimir Malak (Mason Gross at Rutgers University). In addition, the Linda Read Memorial Scholarship for $10,000 was awarded to John Czarnecki. The Read Law Scholarships were awarded to Emily Ensslin (Northeastern University), Theresa Lizzo (George Washington University) and Annabella Cerria (University of St. Andrews in Scotland).

Funding Area: